CarTok/CarLife – New Directions

Posted: 09 July 2011 by SchwarzeMitternacht in Car Life, CarTok

GIMME A NAME!!!

Howdy KupiTok/CarTok readers!

It’s been a while since I have made a post on anything here in KupiTok, let alone in CarTok.

Now, I am sure some of you maybe wondering what this post’s title means, what that picture of a Mercedes E-Class is doing up there, and why there have been no CarTok posts form me these past 2 months or so. Here’s the rundown:

As I have said in my last post back in April,  Zweihänder has had power steering issues for some time. The problem seemed to have been fixed when we finally got the car back in May, but then just last week the dreaded ‘P.A.S. Fluid Low’ warning popped up again on the car’s dashboard. And indeed, the power assisted steering fluid level was low…. Not a good sign.

Also, in an earlier post, I have stated that I will have a brand new car that I will be running. That car is a Mercedes E300. More specifically, a Mercedes-Benz E300 Avantgarde in Obisidian Black Metallic.  That’s the car in the pic up there. All black metallic paint, black roof-lining, black grille insert, black leather interior with black ash wood trim of it. It’s not all black though. The interior A- and C-pillars and ceiling are in grey so it is not TOO claustrophobic.

So with the arrival of the E300, and the ongoing issues of the 8-Series, my father has decided that we split responsibilities for the cars. My dad will now be fully in charge of running and maintaining Zweihänder, and I will be in charge of running and maintaining the E300. That doesn’t mean I won’t help my dad in running the BMW, it’s just that updates on Zweihänder will be few and far between now.

So with all of this going on, I have taken this opportunity to change my style of posting updates here in CarTok. Since I am running the E300 from new, I shall try my best to post updates on the ownership experience of the car every month. If you read the long term running reports in various car magazines, e.g. Fast Fleet in EVO Magazine, than this will be somewhat familiar to you. I’m not saying I will reach the high standards of writing in magazines such as EVO, but I will try my best to be as clear and as informative as possible. In light of this, I will be making the first ‘proper’ post on the E300 next month, as I tell my experiences with the car for this month.

As some readers will know, I have a habit of naming my cars, but I have yet to name the E300. I really want to call it ‘Schwarz’ (German for black) because it is practically begging for it. Of course, that sorts of clashes with my ‘pen name’ here in KupiTok. Being a Transformers fan, I am also tempted to call it ‘Wheeljack’. This is because the Autobot character Wheeljack was an E-Class in Transformers: Dark Of The Moon. Another name bouncing around in my head is ‘Ritter’, in keeping with the Germanic theme (‘ritter’ means ‘knight’). What do you guys think? Which name should I choose? Are there any other names which are better suited to the car? Comments would be appreciated.

– SCM

Comments
  1. reanxyz says:

    no front view?

  2. mohamednazmi says:

    A few suggestions:

    • Schwarz Kann
    • Grau Schwarz
    • Rasant Schwarz

    Don’t mind me, I’m just playing with Google Translate.

  3. hitamlagam says:

    SchwarzRitter…no space in between the two word..i dunno if its the proper german susunan perkataan but yeah, it sounded good that way..hahaha

  4. abufarhi says:

    coz call it ET

  5. SchwarzeMitternacht says:

    ngapa ET?

  6. bagbaga says:

    Was trying to randomly google any cool german folklore associated with speed/stealth/black/dark – not much luck yet.

    Random word connections this morning
    Schwarzfahrer – black rider/fare dodger, they also made a short movie out of it on you tube.
    Das Schwarzwagen – the black car
    Das Wunderschwarzwagen – the wonderful black car
    Schatten – shadow
    Nachtwagen- night car

    cant figure out how to connect horse(pjerd), rider/knight(ritter), with above words yet.

    awesome car btw dude

  7. abufarhi says:

    call it Jamal lah saja
    means beautiful in arabic haha

  8. hitamlagam says:

    Abu Farhi, Its not Jamal, but Jameel…Jamal is unta…hahahaha

  9. hitamlagam says:

    Try TiefSchwarz…

  10. SchwarzeMitternacht says:

    Charcoal? I prefer Swensen’s! Hahaha

  11. SchwarzeMitternacht says:

    You guys have given me so many suggestions. I appreciate it. I need time to think this through

Leave a Reply

