How can I control heartburn with diet?

Posted: 25 June 2010 by reanxyz in post

i Dont think this article contain much detail…

it is From
http://caloriecount.about.com/control-heartburn-diet-q553?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=newsletter_20100622&utm_term=title4

How can I control heartburn with diet?
Asked by anonymous on Apr 06, 2008 in Weight Loss
I am suffering from heartburn constantly and, though I have changed my diet to mostly vegetables and salads and tried to cut bread out, it is difficult to find a diet that suits me without suffering from this ailment. It’s only happened in the past couple of years and appears to be getting worse. I have tried Zantac which appears to work but causes diarrhea. I would like to know if I can change my diet further to assist. There is nothing that appears to be consistently causing this. Is it just the gases in my stomach?

Answer
Heartburn, also called gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), occurs when stomach acid refluxes into the lower esophagus. The diet for GERD is designed to decrease the symptoms: Avoid coffee, decaffeinated coffee, cola, carbonated beverages, chocolate, and fatty foods that are fried or covered in rich sauces. Alcohol, mint, citrus and tomato products may aggravate GERD too. Don’t overfill the stomach or eat within 3 hours of bedtime. Avoid wearing tight-fitting clothes and lose weight for the stomach to sit comfortably in the body cavity. Otherwise, eat a balanced diet with foods from all of the food groups.

Leave a Reply

